I’ve wanted to write something inspiring or interesting about the New Year and how 2013 is going to be a great year (and I’m already listing all the things I’m looking forward to– my graduation, my brother’s graduation among others) but I couldn’t really think of anything I had to say that would be different or that would change the minds of New Year’s cynics (of which camp I often fall into– I hate New Year’s resolutions although I was recently reading through old texts with a friends in which I told her that during the New Year I would start studying harder in physics and running and therefore was resolving to do all the things I hate). Then I read this article which I thought was just fantastic: http://thoughtcatalog.com/2012/20-things-we-need-to-stop-talking-about-in-2013/ For one thing, it was totally true and for another thing it’s like making a New Year’s resolution for other people which always seems more fun then making a New Year’s resolution for yourself. 

So I decided to add a couple more of my own “Things We Need To Stop Talking About in 2013” that weren’t mentioned in the previous article: 

1. The fact that women are curvy and on television

I worship Lena Dunham and Mindy Kaling. They are so inspirational and entertaining for a variety of reasons. However, it drives me insane when I’m reading an article that’s a review of Mindy’s book (I’m sure it’ll be the same when Lena publishes her book this year) or a review of either of their television shows or just an interview with them and the writer comments on their size. Like guess what guys, they have lives and they are not a size two!? It’s freaking 2013, I think we can review things without commenting on the artist’s size. You never read a review of Jason Segel or Judd Apatow and read, it’s just so amazing that they were able to get this far in their careers without a six pack.

2. “Yolo”

I would like to go ahead and quote Jack Black who said, “I am fairly certain “YOLO” is Carpe Diem for stupid people.” Guys, I don’t say this a lot about Jack Black but, he’s totally right. If you’re basing your life decisions on a four letter acronym then, well….you shouldn’t be. Also, you’re pretty much discouraging any and all scientists from trying to invent a way for people to live more than one life. 

3. Complaining about the Kardashian’s fame

Listen, I get it. We all get it. The Kardashian’s do not seem to have a whole lot of talent and they probably shouldn’t have as much fame or money as they do. But they do and they will and it’s time we all accept it and move on with our lives.

4. The Definition of Rape

Rape is bad and it’s a crime and it’s never the victim’s fault and the victim doesn’t have any ways of “shutting a pregnancy down.” We clear?

If that doesn’t sum it up for you, try this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H8yNCMkgk9E

5. Thinking reading is “uncool”

I didn’t think this was still a thing until I heard a someone around the age of 12 complaining to their parent about how stupid books and reading were at Barnes & Noble. Like, really? Books are awesome, kid and reading makes you smarter. Also, something else I’ve discovered by writing all my college supplements in said Barnes & Noble is that a lot of cute boys hang out there. So, another reason to read, if the obvious reasons don’t work for you. 

On that note I hope all my lovely readers had a great New Year and will have a lovely 2013. XO. 

Follow me on twitter: @abbyrosej

